clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

BBWAA Embarrasses Itself. Again.

The 2010 Hall of Fame class has been announced by the Baseball Writers Association Of America and it's pretty much as bad as we were expecting.

Name Votes Pct.
Andre Dawson 420 77.9%
-- -- --
Bert Blyleven 400 74.2%
Roberto Alomar 397 73.7%
Jack Morris 282 52.3%
Barry Larkin 278 51.6%
Lee Smith 255 47.3%
Edgar Martinez 195 36.2%
Tim Raines 164 30.4%
Mark McGwire 128 23.7%
Alan Trammell 121 22.4%

Andre Dawson gets the call, while superior position players like Tim Raines, Alan Trammell, Roberto Alomar, and Mark McGwire (not to mention a DH in Edgar Martinez) fell short -- in some cases well short -- of the 405 votes required for enshrinement. Blyleven fell five votes short; Alomar fell eight votes short.

None of this is surprising, of course. The failure of the BBWAA to recognize the value of actual performance while masking their own smug ignorance -- and in some cases bitter intransigence -- behind the blustery veil of tired rhetoric and logic fallacies never ceases to amaze me.

Why I continue to care about this is a different mystery altogether.

3:32 PM by Alex: I'm going to disagree with Eric here. I still very much care about the Hall of Fame (and I'm aware Eric didn't say he didn't--just that he didn't know why he did), which is still a wonderful museum and a tremendous honor. I try to visit at least once a year and am never disappointed. Now, obviously, I'm not happy with the results; I voted for six men on the SB Nation ballot, none of whom were elected today. Andre Dawson isn't my idea of a good candidate. He made too many outs over his career, which wouldn't have been the end of the world had he been capable of staying and providing Gold Glove defense in center. As things were, I feel he was just short of Cooperstown.

But, at the same time, he doesn't significantly lower the historical standards of the Hall of Fame. He was a much better player than Jim Rice, elected last year. In my opinion, Dawson was the eighth-most deserving player on this ballot, and when six or seven guys are worthy of election, that really is saying something. Dawson is also a member of the Hall of Merit, which is what the Hall might look like had any thought at all been put into its founding.

Nah, I'm not really happy with the results today. But I'm plenty happy for Andre Dawson.