clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mets reinstate Davis, Edgin, Harvey, Hefner, Mejia, Parnell, and Rice from 60-day disabled list

The Mets announced several players have been reinstated, as free agents are removed from the team's 40-man roster.

Brad Penner-USA TODAY Sports

A short while ago, the Mets announced that Ike Davis, Josh Edgin, Matt Harvey, Jeremy Hefner, Jenrry Mejia, Bobby Parnell, and Scott Rice have been resinstated from the 60-day disabled list. This is a necessary move, as the MLB Collective Bargaining Agreement states that all players on the 60-day DL must be reinstated to the 40-man roster before 5:00 pm EST on November 4th.

Also included in that clause is the rule that all free agents are to be removed from the 40-man roster by 9:00 am on the day after the World Series. David Aardsma, Tim Byrdak, Pedro Feliciano, Frank Francisco, Aaron Harang, LaTroy Hawkins and Daisuke Matsuzaka are now officially free agents, and the Mets will have to treat them as such to retain their services.

This now means that the Mets can officially begin offseason activities and can begin signing other teams' free agents on Tuesday. Some important dates to remember include the GM meetings from November 11 to 13 and the MLB winter meetings between December 9 and 12.