clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Baseball Prospectus releases Top 10 Mets prospects list

Noah Syndergaard is the Mets' top-rated prospect for the second year running.

Rob Foldy

Baseball Prospectus released its ranking of the Mets' Top 10 prospects today, along with scouting reports on each player (subscription required). To no one's surprise, Noah Syndergaard is number one on the list, making it the second year in a row that the 6'6" righty has topped the Mets' prospect ranking on BP. Although it was disappointing not to see Syndergaard make his major league debut in 2014, the elite combination of a 95+ fastball and a knee-buckling curve still makes Thor one of the premier pitching prospects in all of baseball.

Meanwhile, Steven Matz enjoyed an excellent comeback campaign in 2014 en route to a second place ranking. After two injury-derailed seasons, the 23-year-old southpaw fought his way back to top prospect status by posting a 2.27 ERA and a 3.74 strikeout-to-walk ratio across 140.1 innings combined in high-A and Double-A. A former second-round draft pick coming out of high school, it's great to see Matz finally live up to his potential and put together a healthy season, thereby adding to the Mets' already deep pool of young pitchers.

As for position players, OF Brandon Nimmo came in third on the back of another solid season. He dominated high-A to the tune of .322/.448/.458 in 279 plate appearances. The 21-year-old did struggle a bit after a midseason promotion to Binghamton, but still finished the year with a .820 OPS across two levels. It was nice to see Nimmo hit 10 home runs in 2014 after managing just 10 in the previous three years combined. If Nimmo can somehow maintain consistent power to complement his excellent plate approach, it may not be long before we see the Wyoming native grace the outfield grass in Flushing.

Here's BP's full list:

1. Noah Syndergaard
2. Steven Matz
3. Brandon Nimmo
4. Amed Rosario
5. Kevin Plawecki
6. Dilson Herrera
7. Marcos Molina
8. Dominic Smith
9. Michael Conforto
10. Jhoan Urena