clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mets announce World Series roster, which includes Juan Uribe

The Mets get their veteran infielder back for the World Series but lose their backup shortstop in the process.

Ron Chenoy-USA TODAY Sports

The Mets have released their 25-man roster for the World Series, and we have a pleasant sighting: Juan Uribe has made his first postseason roster this year. Uribe injured his chest diving for a ball against the New York Yankees on September 20, and then re-aggravated it on a check-swing on September 25.

Uribe, who came over from the Atlanta Braves along with Kelly Johnson on July 25th, slugged six home runs and nine doubles in 44 games as a Met, and will be a valuable right-handed bat off the bench this series.

To make room for Uribe, Matt Reynolds lost his roster spot. Reynolds—one of the few players in major league history to never play in a regular season game but make a playoffs roster—had been on the Mets' postseason roster since Game 3 of the NLDS, a few days after Chase Utley decided to break Ruben Tejada's leg on a slide. Reynolds had not seen any in-game action during the playoffs and was most notable for giving Tejada a piggy back ride into the dugout before Game 3 of the NLDS at Citi Field.

The only real downside to this move is that, in the event of an injury to Wilmer Flores, the Mets are left without a true backup shortstop. Kelly Johnson played one game at short for the Mets this season and committed an error in it, so he would most likely get the nod if Flores couldn't play. Of course, in the case of a severe injury, Reynolds could be called up mid-series, as he was for the NLCS. But the Royals probably don't have Chase Utley trying to hurt our future World Series hero, WIlmer.

Aside from the Uribe for Reynolds swap, the roster is the same as it was for the NLCS, with the Mets carrying 11 pitchers and 14 position players.


Tyler Clippard
Bartolo Colon
Jacob deGrom
Jeurys Familia
Sean Gilmartin
Matt Harvey
Steven Matz
Jonathon Niese
Addison Reed
Hansel Robles
Noah Syndergaard


Travis d'Arnaud
Kevin Plawecki


Lucas Duda
Wilmer Flores
Kelly Johnson
Daniel Murphy
Juan Uribe
David Wright


Yoenis Cespedes
Michael Conforto
Michael Cuddyer
Curtis Granderson
Juan Lagares
Kirk Nieuwenhuis