clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2015 Gold Glove Award winners announced

The 2015 Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners were announced Tuesday

Noah K. Murray-USA TODAY Sports

After Juan Lagares won a Gold Glove for his play in center field in 2014, the Mets came up empty-handed this season. The 2015 Rawlings Gold Glove Awards were revealed Tuesday on ESPN2, resulting in four first-time award winners: Dee Gordon of the Marlins, Brandon Crawford of the Giants, Starling Marte of the Pirates, and A.J. Pollock of the Diamondbacks. Mets nominee Curtis Granderson would have been a first-time winner, but lost to Jason Heyward of the Cardinals; the Gold Glove is the third of Heyward's career.

It has long been suggested that Gold Glove Awards are influenced by offensive performance; in the case of Granderson, his nomination coincided with an offensive renaissance. After a largely unsuccessful first season of a multi-year deal, Granderson was an excellent leadoff hitter in 2015, improving his on-base percentage to .364 and boosting his wRC+ to 132. While he may have come up short in Gold Glove voting—Granderson's 5.9 UZR fell short of Heyward's 22.6, for what that's worth—Granderson rejuvenated his career last season with stellar play on offense and defense.

Here's the full list of recipients of 2015 Rawlings Gold Glove Awards.

National League

C Yadier Molina, Cardinals
1B Paul Goldschmidt, Diamondbacks
2B Dee Gordon, Marlins
3B Nolan Arenado, Rockies
SS Brandon Crawford, Giants
LF Starling Marte, Pirates
CF A.J. Pollock, Diamondbacks
RF Jason Heyward, Cardinals
P Zack Greinke, Dodgers

American League

C Salvador Perez, Royals
1B Eric Hosmer, Royals
2B Jose Altuve, Astros
3B Manny Machado, Orioles
SS Alcides Escobar, Royals
LF Yoenis Cespedes, Tigers
CF Kevin Kiermaier, Rays
RF Kole Calhoun, Angels
P Dallas Keuchel, Astros