clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2015 awards finalists announced, Terry Collins up for manager of the year

Collins had his first winning season with the Mets and wound up in the World Series.

Jayne Kamin-Oncea-USA TODAY Sports

The 2015 BBWAA Awards finalists were announced earlier this week. Between Rookie of the Year, Manager of the Year, Cy Young, and Most Valuable Player, the Mets' sole representative is Terry Collins, who recently signed a two-year extension. Collins is one of three candidates for National League Manager of the Year, competing against Cubs skipper Joe Maddon and Mike Matheny of the Cardinals.

Collins led the Mets to a National League championship in 2015 and has already won the Sporting News Manager of the Year award. The kinship between Collins and Cubs manager Joe Maddon was a frequent talking point throughout the NLCS, with Maddon lauding the efforts of his counterpart.

Here's the complete list of the award nominees and schedule for the announcement of the winners.

National League Rookie of the Year

Kris Bryant, 3B, Cubs

Matt Duffy, 3B, Giants

Jung Ho Kang, SS, Pirates

American League Rookie of the Year

Carlos Correa, SS, Astros

Francisco Lindor, SS, Indians

Miguel Sano, DH, Twins

American League Manager of the Year

Jeff Banister, Rangers

A.J. Hinch, Astros

Paul Molitor, Twins

National League Cy Young Award

Jake Arrieta, SP, Cubs

Zack Greinke, SP, Dodgers

Clayton Kershaw, SP, Dodgers

American League Cy Young Award

Sonny Gray, SP, Athletics

Dallas Keuchel, SP, Astros

David Price, SP, Blue Jays

National League MVP

Paul Goldschmidt, 1B, Diamondbacks

Bryce Harper, OF, Nationals

Joey Votto, 1B, Reds

American League MVP

Lorenzo Cain, OF, Royals

Josh Donaldson, 3B, Blue Jays

Mike Trout, OF, Angels


Monday, November 16: AL & NL Rookie of the Year

Tuesday, November 17: AL & NL Manager of the Year

Wednesday, November 18: AL & NL Cy Young Award

Thursday, November 19: AL & NL Most Valuable Player