clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Cubs' Joe Maddon wins NL Manager of the Year, Mets' Terry Collins finishes third

Maddon helped improve the Cubs from a 73-win team in 2014 to a 97-win team during his first year as skipper in Chicago.

Justin K. Aller/Getty Images

Joe Maddon was named National League Manager of the Year by the Baseball Writers' Association of America, edging Mike Matheny of the St. Louis Cardinals and Terry Collins of the New York Mets. Maddon becomes the first Cubs' manager to win the award since Lou Piniella in 2008. Maddon also won the award in 2008 and 2011 while managing the Tampa Bay Rays.

In his first year with the Cubs after coming over from Tampa Bay, Maddon led them to a 97-65 record and a Wild Card berth. The Cubs defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates in the Wild Card game, and then went on to upset the Cardinals three games to one in the National League Division Series before being swept by the Mets in the National League Championship Series.

Maddon received 18 of the 30 first-place votes compared to nine for Matheny, who finished second. Collins, who received three first-place votes, piloted the Mets to a 90-72 record this season, which was good enough to help them claim their first NL East title and postseason berth since 2006. Under Collins, the Mets also made their first World Series appearance since 2000 before falling to the Kansas City Royals in five games. Matheny led the Cardinals to 100 wins and their third consecutive NL Central title despite losing pitching ace Adam Wainwright to an Achilles tendon injury in April.

Texas Rangers' manager Jeff Banister won the award in the American League, receiving 17 of the 30 first-place votes. A.J. Hinch of the Houston Astros finished second, and Paul Molitor of the Minnesota Twins finished third.