clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2015 Home Run Derby: Participants and open thread, 7/13/15

A bunch of sluggers try to hit dingers before thunderstorms roll through Cincinnati later this evening.

Elsa/Getty Images

Major League Baseball's Home Run Derby has some new rules and a new format this year. The eight participants will face off in a bracket, with the lowest seed playing the highest seed and so on. On top of that, players will be given a time limit in each round—four minutes now because of the forecast—to hit their home runs. A player earns a 30-second bonus each time he hits two home runs that travel 425 feet or more.

While there aren't any Mets in this year's derby, you can relive Mets home run derby participants of the past here. Just four Mets have appeared in the contest: David Wright, Bobby Bonilla, Howard Johnson, and Darryl Strawberry.

Participating this year are:

  1. Albert Pujols
  2. Todd Frazier
  3. Josh Donaldson
  4. Joc Pederson
  5. Manny Machado
  6. Anthony Rizzo
  7. Prince Fielder
  8. Kris Bryant

Broadcast info

The contest begins at 8:00 PM EDT and will air on ESPN.