clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Matt Harvey, Jacob deGrom, and Noah Syndergaard will headline Mets postseason rotation

Terry Collins announced that his top three starters would start New York's first three postseason games.

Anthony Gruppuso-USA TODAY Sports

Even before the Mets qualified for the postseason, there were a lot of questions bubbling about the team's postseason rotation. That's going to happen when you use six pitchers in the regular season but only have room for four in October. After Sunday's game, Terry Collins got the easy part out of the way first and announced that his best three starters during the 2015 campaign would be the first three guys to start games in the 2015 postseason.

Matt HarveyJacob deGrom, and Noah Syndergaard will be the three starters out of the gate, though the actual sequence in which they'll pitch is not yet known. While deGrom was the best Mets starter this season by objective measures like ERA and FIP, all three youngsters have experienced streaks of brilliance. Harvey was playing some of his best baseball during August before he started a bizarre controversy by saying that he might not not pitch beyond 180 innings in 2015.

Fortunately that situation was put to rest quickly and Harvey is now lined up to pitch Game 1 of the NLDS on plenty of rest. As for the fourth man in the rotation, that is looking like Steven Matz, as Jon Niese is already slated to work out of the bullpen during the final week of the regular season to prepare for a similar role in October. The fact that Matz has only made six starts in his big league career makes him an unusual choice for such an important role, but he has been nothing short of excellent when on the mound.

The other option for the fourth slot would appear to be Bartolo Colon, who has made 466 starts during his 18-year big league career.