clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mets set 2017 Opening Day roster

With the season set to begin on Monday, the Mets have made their roster official.

MLB: Philadelphia Phillies at New York Mets Brad Penner-USA TODAY Sports

The Mets have made their 2017 Opening Day roster official, and there aren’t any surprises. With Seth Lugo starting the year on the disabled list and Rafael Montero in the bullpen, the team’s roster was unofficially finalized yesterday.

Here’s the full roster:


  • Travis d’Arnaud
  • Rene Rivera


  • Asdrubal Cabrera
  • Lucas Duda
  • Wilmer Flores
  • Ty Kelly
  • Jose Reyes
  • T.J. Rivera
  • Neil Walker


  • Jay Bruce
  • Yoenis Cespedes
  • Michael Conforto
  • Curtis Granderson

Starting pitchers

  • Jacob deGrom
  • Robert Gsellman
  • Matt Harvey
  • Noah Syndergaard
  • Zack Wheeler

Relief pitchers

  • Jerry Blevins
  • Josh Edgin
  • Rafael Montero
  • Addison Reed
  • Hansel Robles
  • Fernando Salas
  • Josh Smoker

The disabled list

Seth Lugo isn’t the only one starting the year on the disabled list. The Mets are officially calling his injury "right elbow inflammation." The following players are starting the year on baseball’s new 10-day disabled list:

  • Juan Lagares (left oblique)
  • Seth Lugo (right elbow inflammation)
  • Steven Matz (left elbow inflammation)
  • Brandon Nimmo (right hamstring)
  • David Wright (cervical disc herniation)


  • Jeurys Familia